Facebook Pixel Noscript

FM Students Announced as SUNY Chancellor Award Recipients

Posted: March 11, 2014 — SUNY Chancellor Nancy Zimpher has announced two Fulton-Montgomery Community College students as recipients for the Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence; Luis Martinez and Gregory Ruddy.

Luis Martinez will graduate this May with a degree in Liberal Arts and Science: General Studies. Martinez is a member of the College’s Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK); a Who’s Who recipient; and a Resident Assistant for Campus View Student Housing where he mentors students and assists the Resident Life Directors. Martinez plans and implements activities for the students, and serves as a volunteer for the Student Activities Office assisting with fundraising efforts and food drives.

Gregory Ruddy will also graduate this May with a degree in Liberal Arts and Science: General Studies. He serves as FM’s President of the Student Government Association (SGA); a member of the Fulmont College Association Board of Directors; and Chairman of the Advisor Selection Committee. Ruddy is a volunteer and participant with fundraising and community outreach efforts for Veterans and children. He is also a member of the baseball team and mentors his teammates.

“I am extremely proud of the achievements of these students and I congratulate them on being named Chancellor’s Award recipients,” says College President Swanger.

The Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence acknowledges students who have best demonstrated, and been recognized for, the integration of academic excellence with other aspects of their lives, which may include leadership, campus involvement, community service, creative or performing arts, athletics, and career achievement.

Martinez and Ruddy will be presented their awards during the Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence Ceremony at the Empire State Plaza Convention Center on April 2.


This entry was posted in General FM News. Bookmark the permalink. Comments are closed, but you can leave a trackback: Trackback URL.